ICI-associated myasthenia gravis
Also called: ICI myasthenia gravis · myasthenic syndrome · MG · checkpoint inhibitor myasthenia
The earliest and deadliest of the neurological irAEs — median 29 days, roughly 20% fatality in the pharmacovigilance record — and the one that travels with myocarditis and myositis. Seronegative disease does not exclude it, and the threat to life is respiratory, so the pulmonary assessment is part of the diagnosis rather than a complication check.
Part of a syndrome that spans more than this organ — see Spans more than this organ below.
Reported frequency
0.47% of ICI reports vs. 0.04% of the full database (ROR 16.5, 95% CI 14.5-18.9) — Share of ICI adverse-event reports naming myasthenia gravis
of 48,653 ICI reports · VigiBase spontaneous reports — a share of REPORTS and a disproportionality signal, not an incidence in treated patients
pharmacovigilance · 31118078
3.8% anti-CTLA-4, 6.1% anti-PD-1, 12.0% combination — Overall neurological adverse events across ICI trials (ALL neurological phenotypes, not this one)
of 59 clinical trials totalling 9208 patients · Systematic review to February 2016. This is the ORGAN-level denominator, dominated by non-specific grade 1-2 events such as headache — it is carried here as context for how small a fraction myasthenia gravis is, never as this entity's rate
narrative review · 28064139
Severity and class
below 1% — High-grade neurological adverse events (ALL neurological phenotypes)
of 59 clinical trials totalling 9208 patients · Systematic review, all ICI classes. Organ-level, not specific to myasthenia gravis — no source cited here reports a grade ≥3 rate for this entity alone
narrative review · 28064139
~ 20% — Fatality among reported myasthenia gravis cases
of Myasthenia gravis reports within 48,653 ICI adverse-event reports · VigiBase spontaneous reports. A fatality share among REPORTS, which over-represents severe outcomes — but note the direction of the contrast the study draws: the other neurological phenotypes sat at 6-12% in the same database
pharmacovigilance · 31118078
Associated with anti-PD-1 — ICI class associated with myasthenia gravis reports
of 48,653 ICI adverse-event reports against a full database of 18,518,994 · VigiBase disproportionality analysis to September 2018. A statement of association direction, not a ratio between classes — the study reports which class the phenotype tracked with, and this field carries that and nothing more
pharmacovigilance · 31118078
Onset
Median 29 days — the earliest of the neurological phenotypes in the pharmacovigilance record, against 61-80 days for the others. The organ-level median across trials was 6 weeks, which is a different and slower population. Stored in the units each source printed; no median is converted to weeks.
Presentation
- · Fatigable or fluctuating muscle weakness, proximal (neck and shoulder) more than distal
- · Ptosis, double vision from extraocular movement abnormality, facial weakness, difficulty swallowing — bulbar and ocular muscles are commonly affected
- · Diaphragmatic weakness with respiratory compromise, which is what makes this entity lethal
- · Concurrent myocarditis or myositis — SITC calls the combination potentially dangerous, and the pharmacovigilance record found it frequent
- · Seronegative presentation is common enough to matter: anti-AChR was positive in 66.7% (30/45) and anti-MuSK in 5.3% (1/19) of one 47-patient series, and SITC states toxicity can occur independent of positive serology
Differential
- · Myositis — the reason SITC offers electrodiagnostic studies specifically to distinguish the two, and the reason finding one is not a reason to stop looking
- · Myocarditis, which shares the triad and is carried as its own card in this atlas; troponin belongs in the work-up of weakness here, not only of chest symptoms
- · Thyroid dysfunction, which SITC includes in the same evaluation
- · Guillain-Barré syndrome and other polyneuropathies — ascending weakness with areflexia points there instead, and the treatment paths diverge
- · Progression of the malignancy, including leptomeningeal or CNS disease
Work-up
Neurology consultation · All patients
SITC attaches it to ANY grade of myasthenic symptoms, and refers every neurological irAE to a specialist regardless of severity. Not a grade threshold.
34172516
Diagnostic antibody testing (anti-AChR, anti-MuSK) · All patients
Confirms the diagnosis when positive. A negative panel does NOT exclude it — SITC states toxicity can occur independent of positive serology, and one series found anti-MuSK positive in 1 of 19.
34172516
Pulmonary function with negative inspiratory force and vital capacity · All patients
The measurement that detects diaphragmatic weakness before it becomes respiratory failure. SITC asks for it in the work-up and then for frequent repeat assessments during treatment.
34172516
Evaluation for concurrent myositis, myocarditis and thyroid dysfunction · All patients
The shared triad work-up. The pharmacovigilance record found concurrent myocarditis and myositis frequent in this phenotype specifically, and myocarditis is the member with 50% reported fatality.
34172516, 31118078
Electrodiagnostic studies · If atypical
Offered by SITC to distinguish myasthenia gravis from myositis, which present with overlapping weakness.
34172516
Grade ladder
Grade 1
Hold the ICIConsider admissionGrade 1 — ASCO's cross-organ default continues an ICPi at grade 1 and names neurologic toxicity as one of its exceptions. SITC fills that exception without grading it: any grade of myasthenic symptoms gets a neurology consultation, and a diagnosis of myasthenia gravis discontinues the ICI. The dose on this rung is SITC's OCULAR myasthenia figure and applies only to ocular disease of grade ≤2.
Corticosteroid 0.5–1 mg/kg/day (oral)
Taper over 4–6 weeks or longer, starting once: Not stated for this entity. SITC gives the ocular grade ≤2 dose without a taper window; the window shown is ASCO's cross-organ 'at least 4-6 weeks', which is a FLOOR in its own text and is rendered here as an open-ended plan rather than a completion date.
No step size or interval is carried: the chapter cited does not specify a taper cadence, and one is not invented here.
Second line
- IVIG or plasma exchange (PLEX), with corticosteroid therapy and pyridostigmine — A diagnosis of myasthenia gravis — not steroid failure. SITC names this the standard of care on diagnosis, alongside discontinuing the ICI.
- · Neurology consultation at any grade of myasthenic symptoms
- · Assess negative inspiratory force and vital capacity before treating this as mild
- · Look for myocarditis and myositis — the triad is why an isolated-looking weakness is not isolated
Escalate when: Any bulbar symptom, any drop in negative inspiratory force or vital capacity, or any evidence of myocarditis or myositis. Weakness that is fatigable and progressing does not wait for a grade.
Grade 2
Hold — consider permanent discontinuationAdmitGrade 2 — ASCO's general ladder may suspend the ICPi for most grade 2 toxicities. SITC's entity rule is stronger and ungraded: a diagnosis of myasthenia gravis discontinues ICI therapy and starts IVIG or PLEX with corticosteroids and pyridostigmine. The 0.5-1 mg/kg figure is carried here ONLY where the disease is ocular and grade ≤2; a generalized grade 2 myasthenia gravis is outside the scope of that sentence and no other dose is stated.
Corticosteroid 0.5–1 mg/kg/day (oral)
Taper over 4–6 weeks or longer, starting once: Not stated for this entity; the floor is ASCO's cross-organ minimum taper length, rendered open-ended.
No step size or interval is carried: the chapter cited does not specify a taper cadence, and one is not invented here.
Second line
- IVIG or plasma exchange (PLEX), with corticosteroid therapy and pyridostigmine — Diagnosis of myasthenia gravis, at any grade.
- · Discontinue the ICI on diagnosis
- · Frequent pulmonary assessments — SITC's word is frequent, and this is the organ that kills
- · Evaluate concurrent myositis, myocarditis and thyroid dysfunction
Sources differ here
Rechallenge
- ASCO 2021 (society guideline) — Hold ICPi and may resume in G2 patients (MGFA 1 and 2) only if symptoms resolve and steroid taper completed.
- SITC 2021 (society guideline) — ICI therapy is discontinued on a diagnosis of myasthenia gravis, without a grade condition and without a stated route back.
Escalate when: Falling vital capacity or negative inspiratory force, dysphagia, or any cardiac finding. Respiratory compromise is the failure mode, not limb weakness.
Grade 3
Discontinue permanentlyAdmitGrade 3 — ASCO suspends the ICPi and starts high-dose corticosteroids at grade 3 across organs. SITC's entity rule already discontinues the drug and starts IVIG or PLEX. The ocular grade ≤2 dose does NOT reach this rung, and SITC's high-dose pulse corticosteroid sentence for myasthenia gravis states no dose, so none is encoded.
Dose not carried
SITC's standard of care for autoimmune myasthenia gravis includes high-dose pulse corticosteroids, and that sentence names no dose, route or duration. The only myasthenia figure in the chapter is scoped to OCULAR disease at grade ≤2, which this rung is not. Importing the encephalitis or Guillain-Barré pulse regimen from two paragraphs away would be a cross-entity borrow of exactly the kind this atlas does not permit, so the rung states that the dose is not carried rather than supplying one.
Second line
- IVIG or plasma exchange (PLEX), with corticosteroid therapy and pyridostigmine — Diagnosis of myasthenia gravis. SITC names IVIG and PLEX as the standard of care, not as a rescue.
- · Permanent discontinuation of the ICI
- · Frequent pulmonary assessments, with a threshold for ventilatory support set by neurology and critical care
- · Rule in or out the myocarditis that travels with this phenotype before attributing everything to weakness
Escalate when: Respiratory failure, myasthenic crisis, or concurrent myocarditis.
Grade 4
Discontinue permanentlyICUGrade 4 — ASCO's cross-organ rule is permanent discontinuation at grade 4, with an endocrine exception that does not apply. SITC discontinues on diagnosis regardless of grade, so the two agree here.
Dose not carried
No dose for grade 4 myasthenia gravis is stated in any chapter held here. The ocular grade ≤2 figure does not extend, and no pulse dose is stated for this entity.
Second line
- IVIG or plasma exchange (PLEX), with corticosteroid therapy and pyridostigmine — Diagnosis of myasthenia gravis.
- · Critical care with airway and ventilatory management
- · Permanent discontinuation of the ICI
- · Continued evaluation for myocarditis and myositis — the triad does not resolve because the myasthenia is being treated
Escalate when: Already the top rung. Management of established myasthenic crisis is beyond what the chapters held here state.
Rechallenge
Rechallenge is contraindicated
The two chapters held here disagree, and the card keeps the stricter reading. SITC discontinues ICI therapy on a diagnosis of myasthenia gravis, without a grade condition and without describing a route back. ASCO does describe one, but only at grade 2 (MGFA classes I and II) and only once symptoms resolve AND the steroid taper is completed; at grades 3-4 it discontinues permanently. Against roughly 20% reported fatality, the earliest onset of any neurological phenotype and a frequent association with myocarditis, the stance stays contraindicated rather than individualized — but it is now the conservative reading of a DISAGREEMENT rather than of an absence, and both positions are set out under 'Sources differ here'. The empty recurrence field still says no source here reports what happens on resumption.
- · ASCO states two, and only for grade 2 (MGFA classes I and II): symptoms must have resolved AND the steroid taper must be completed. SITC states none, because it does not describe a route back at all
Deliberately not carried
- Where sources differ — No longer empty. SITC's recommendations and ASCO's Table 7 section 7.1 are both held, and on one decision they part: resumption. SITC discontinues on a diagnosis of myasthenia gravis without a grade condition; ASCO permits resumption at grade 2 (MGFA classes I and II) but only once symptoms resolve AND the steroid taper is completed. That is a genuine disagreement about the same decision at the same grade, so it is recorded as one below rather than resolved silently in either direction.
- Reported frequency — Neither figure carried is an incidence in treated patients. The 0.47% is a share of spontaneous REPORTS with a disproportionality signal beside it; the 3.8/6.1/12.0% figures are the ORGAN-level trial rate across all neurological phenotypes, dominated by headache. Both framings say so in their population line. No source cited here reports how often ICI myasthenia gravis occurs per patient treated.
- Grade 3 or higher share — The sub-1% high-grade figure carried is organ-level across all neurological phenotypes, and its population line says so. No source cited here reports a grade ≥3 rate for myasthenia gravis specifically. It is carried rather than left null because the organ-level ceiling is genuinely informative — high-grade neurological events are rare in aggregate — but it must not be read as this entity's severity rate.
- Median time to onset — The phenotype-specific median is 29 days and the organ-level median is 6 weeks; they come from different sources and different populations. Converting 29 days to 4.14 weeks would print a number no source stated, and averaging the two would be worse. Both are in onset.note in their published units.
- Corticosteroid dose, grades 3-4 — SITC states high-dose pulse corticosteroids for autoimmune myasthenia gravis and names no dose. The chapter's only myasthenia dose is scoped to OCULAR disease at grade ≤2 and is carried only on the rungs it covers. The 1000 mg IV methylprednisolone regimen in the same chapter is written for encephalitis and Guillain-Barré, and is not borrowed here — for a critical-tier entity this is the most consequential gap on the card and it is stated rather than filled.
- Corticosteroid taper — No taper window, start trigger or step cadence is stated for myasthenia gravis anywhere in the chapter held here. The grade 1-2 rungs show ASCO's cross-organ 'at least 4-6 weeks' as an open-ended floor, sourced to ASCO and labeled as such on the taper line, and the step size and interval are empty together.
- Serology test performance — The 66.7% and 5.3% positivity rates are stored as SITC states them, with their denominators (30/45 and 1/19), because the clinically load-bearing point is that a negative panel does not exclude the diagnosis. They are positivity rates in a 47-patient series, not sensitivity, and no negative predictive value is asserted.
- Linked society recommendations — Left empty although ASCO and SITC are both in this atlas's guideline library: the recommendation stored against each of them there is scoped to ICI-related kidney injury, and linking them would put kidney dosing on a neurology card. The chapter is carried under Sources with its own quote.
Sources
- Brahmer JR, et al. (2021) Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC) clinical practice guideline on immune checkpoint inhibitor-related adverse eventsCited for: The presenting pattern of ICI myasthenia gravis and its bulbar, ocular and diaphragmatic involvement; that toxicity occurs independent of positive serology; the anti-PD-(L)1 skew; the myocarditis and myositis association; the standard of care (IVIG or PLEX with corticosteroids and pyridostigmine); the ICI discontinuation rule; the ocular grade ≤2 prednisone dose; and the work-up, including the pulmonary assessments and the electrodiagnostic study that separates myasthenia gravis from myositis.Supporting text: the full text
- Schneider BJ, et al. (2021) Management of Immune-Related Adverse Events in Patients Treated With Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy: ASCO Guideline UpdateCited for: ASCO's Table 7 section 7.1 myasthenia-gravis chapter, and only that entity: that ASCO defines NO grade 1 and warrants workup at all grades; the grade-2 hold with resumption permitted only once symptoms resolve AND the steroid taper is completed; prednisone 0.5 mg/kg orally daily at grade 2, weaned on improvement; pyridostigmine 30 mg three times daily titrated to 120 mg four times daily; and the grade 3-4 cell — the grade-2 recommendations continued plus permanent discontinuation, possible ICU-level monitoring, a taper beginning 3-4 weeks after initiation, IVIG 2 G/kg over 5 days or plasmapheresis, rituximab if refractory, and frequent pulmonary function assessment.Supporting text: the full text
- Johnson DB, et al. (2019) Neurologic toxicity associated with immune checkpoint inhibitors: a pharmacovigilance study.Cited for: Per-phenotype reporting shares and reporting odds ratios for myasthenia gravis, encephalitis, peripheral neuropathy and meningitis; the class split (myasthenia gravis and encephalitis with anti-PD-1, the others with anti-CTLA-4); and the fatality-and-onset contrast that separates myasthenia gravis from the rest — roughly 20% fatality at a median of 29 days, against 6-12% at 61-80 days, with frequent concurrent myocarditis and myositis.Supporting text: the PubMed abstract (checkable at the link above)
- Cuzzubbo S, et al. (2017) Neurological adverse events associated with immune checkpoint inhibitors: Review of the literature.Cited for: Overall neurological adverse-event incidence by ICI class across 59 trials, the observation that most events are grade 1-2 and non-specific, the sub-1% high-grade rate, the median 6-week onset, and that drug interruption plus steroids led to neurological recovery in most cases — including in Guillain-Barré syndrome, where steroids are not the usual recommendation.Supporting text: the PubMed abstract (checkable at the link above)