Skip to content
All organs

CHECKPOINT-INHIBITOR TOXICITY

Eye immune-related adverse events

Uncommon but sight-threatening, and the one organ SITC manages almost entirely by referral: an ophthalmologist grades and directs treatment, and systemic or topical steroids for the eye are started under that guidance. Uveitis and dry eyes are the commonest; untreated, they can end in vision loss.

Two traps SITC names explicitly: a red or painful eye can be infection or metastasis rather than an irAE, and starting steroids can worsen an infectious cause such as herpetic keratitis or mask the picture before the ophthalmologist sees it. So the eye is referred before it is treated. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Anchored on the ASCO and SITC chapters for this organ. Every source is named beside the position it supports, and labeled with what kind of source it is.

At a glance

ICI-associated uveitis

Also called: immune-related uveitis · checkpoint inhibitor uveitis · iritis · anterior uveitis · panuveitis

The commonest sight-threatening ocular irAE — under 1% to 6% in trials — and the clearest example in the atlas of an organ managed by referral rather than by the atlas: an ophthalmologist grades it and directs treatment, because its severity is not readable from symptoms and its mimics (infection, metastasis) are treated in opposite directions.

UncommonSeriousonset: any time on therapy

Reported frequency

  • <1%–6%Uveitis rate in clinical trials

    of Clinical-trial populations pooled in a systematic review of the literature · SITC's stated range for ICI uveitis, sourced to a systematic review

    narrative review · 34172516, 28277102

  • Odds ratio 3.40 (95% CI 1.32–8.71)All-grade ocular irAE odds vs control regimens

    of 11 trials, 4965 participants · Pooled analysis of prospective trials, all-grade immune-related ocular toxicities (uveitis and dry eyes the commonest) — an ICI-vs-control comparison, not a class-vs-class one

    narrative review · 28277102

Onset

No onset window for ICI uveitis is stated in any source held here. The bucket is 'any-time' rather than a narrowed guess.

Presentation

  • · Eye redness, pain, photophobia, floaters and blurred vision
  • · Anterior, posterior or panuveitis — the subtype an ophthalmologist establishes on examination
  • · Severity that symptoms may under-represent: SITC warns the presentation may not reflect how serious the condition is

Differential

  • · Infectious uveitis or keratitis, especially herpetic — which steroids can worsen, and the reason treatment waits for an ophthalmologist
  • · Metastasis to the eye — SITC flags the eye as an immune-privileged site where a metastasis is especially concerning and could be missed
  • · Other ocular irAEs SITC groups nearby: dry eyes, iritis, conjunctivitis, serous retinal detachment, optic neuritis
  • · Ocular myasthenia and orbital myopathy, which present with eye-movement or lid signs rather than intraocular inflammation

Work-up

  • Ophthalmological consultation by a specialist · All patients

    SITC calls this crucial for accurate diagnosis, grading and management. It is the pivot of the whole card: the ophthalmologist grades the uveitis and directs treatment, and this atlas does not substitute for that.

    34172516

  • Slit-lamp and dilated fundus examination · All patients

    The examination that establishes whether the uveitis is anterior, posterior or pan, and that looks for the infection or intraocular metastasis SITC warns can mimic it.

    34172516

  • MRI of the brain including pituitary cuts · If atypical

    SITC's trigger when ocular OR bulbar symptoms are present (eg difficulty moving the eyes) — it looks past the globe for a neurological or hypophyseal cause of an ocular presentation.

    34172516

Grade ladder

Grade 1
Continue the ICIOutpatient

Grade 1 — ophthal is NOT among ASCO's grade-1 exceptions, so its continue-with-monitoring default applies here on its face. SITC refines it: grade 1-2 eye symptoms should prompt the clinician to consider ophthalmological referral if available. Steroids for the eye are not started here except under an ophthalmologist's guidance.

Dose not carried

SITC states no corticosteroid dose for uveitis and explicitly defers initiation of systemic or topical ocular steroids to an ophthalmologist's guidance. Assigning a number here would override that instruction, so the rung records that no dose is carried rather than asserting no steroid is indicated. Over-the-counter artificial tears are the only agent SITC names without a specialist, and only for symptom relief.

  • · Refer to ophthalmology — ASCO asks for referral at ALL grades of ocular symptoms, promptly and usually within 1 week at this grade. SITC's weaker 'consider if available' is the older position and is not what is shown.
  • · Artificial tears for symptom relief, per SITC
  • · Do not start ocular steroids without an ophthalmologist — they can worsen an infectious cause or mask grading

Escalate when: Any grade ≥3 eye symptom — visual disturbance; a red, painful eye; double vision; lid changes; or difficulty moving the eyes — which triggers immediate referral.

Grade 2
Hold the ICIOutpatient

Grade 2 — ASCO may suspend the ICPi for most grade 2 toxicities. SITC's referral threshold is unchanged from grade 1 (consider referral if available), and treatment remains ophthalmologist-directed.

Dose not carried

No ocular corticosteroid dose is stated for grade 2 uveitis; SITC keeps initiation under the ophthalmologist. The rung records that the dose is not carried.

  • · URGENT ophthalmology referral (ASCO), which also gates the ICI: the hold is temporary, until after that consult
  • · Exclude infection and metastasis before immunosuppressing the eye

Escalate when: Escalation of eye symptoms to grade ≥3, or vision change.

Grade 3
Discontinue permanentlyConsider admission

Grade 3 — anterior uveitis with 3+ or greater cells, or intermediate, posterior or pan-uveitis. ASCO's ocular chapter permanently discontinues the ICPi here and asks for urgent ophthalmology referral. That is stronger than the suspend-at-grade-3 this card previously showed from ASCO's cross-organ ladder, and the ocular chapter is now held. SITC's instruction is that grade ≥3 eye symptoms prompt IMMEDIATE ophthalmological referral, and any ocular steroid is given under that specialist's direction — the two agree on urgency and neither states a systemic mg/kg dose at this grade.

Dose not carried

ASCO's ocular chapter names the agents at this grade — systemic corticosteroids with intravitreal, periocular or topical corticosteroids, and methotrexate where the response to systemic steroids is poor — but attaches no mg/kg figure to them; its only ocular dose is at grade 4. SITC routes grade ≥3 eye disease to immediate ophthalmological referral with steroids under that specialist's guidance. Neither states a number here, so none is shown; the grade 4 rung below carries the one ASCO does state.

  • · URGENT ophthalmology referral — ASCO's word at this grade; SITC says immediate. The two agree on urgency
  • · Treatment — topical, periocular, intravitreal or systemic steroid — chosen by the ophthalmologist, not by grade alone
  • · MRI brain with pituitary cuts if ocular or bulbar signs suggest a neurological or hypophyseal cause

Escalate when: Threatened or progressing vision loss despite specialist treatment.

Grade 4
Discontinue permanentlyConsider admission

Grade 4 — best-corrected visual acuity of 20/200 or worse in the affected eye. ASCO's ocular chapter discontinues the ICPi permanently and asks for EMERGENT ophthalmology referral, and it is the one rung where it states a systemic dose for the eye. The intraocular route — intravitreal, periocular or topical — remains the ophthalmologist's, given per that specialist's opinion alongside the systemic steroid.

Corticosteroid 1–2 mg/kg/day (oral)

Taper over 4–6 weeks or longer, starting once: Not stated for this entity. ASCO gives the grade 4 dose and no taper window; the window shown is its cross-organ 'at least 4-6 weeks', a FLOOR in its own text, rendered open-ended.

No step size or interval is carried: the chapter cited does not specify a taper cadence, and one is not invented here.

  • · EMERGENT ophthalmology referral — ASCO escalates the wording again at this grade, and the ophthalmologist leads management of sight-threatening intraocular inflammation
  • · Permanent discontinuation of the ICI

Escalate when: Already the top rung. Management of established sight-threatening uveitis is the ophthalmologist's, beyond what the chapters held here state.

Rechallenge

Individualize the decision

No source held here states a rechallenge rule for ICI uveitis. Unlike the neurological and cardiac phenotypes, SITC does not attach a permanent-discontinuation instruction to it, and its management is graded and often organ-confined — so the atlas does not encode a hard stop it cannot source. The decision belongs with the ophthalmologist and oncologist together; recurrence is null because no figure is stated, and the stance reflects a genuinely case-by-case decision rather than either a green light or a bar.

  • · Resolution of intraocular inflammation and explicit ophthalmological sign-off before any re-exposure
  • · Exclusion of an infectious or metastatic cause that would make the original diagnosis wrong

Deliberately not carried

  • Where sources differEmpty although TWO chapters are now held for this entity. ASCO's Table 10 section 10.1 and SITC's ocular recommendations are both read, and where they meet they agree rather than differ: both refer at every grade and escalate the urgency with it, and neither states a systemic dose below grade 4. SITC manages the eye by referral rather than by a dosing ladder, so it offers no rung-level position to set against ASCO's — ASCO's grade 3 discontinuation and grade 4 dose are carried on the ladder with their own citation.
  • Corticosteroid doseGrades 1 to 3 read 'Dose not carried'; grade 4 no longer does. SITC states no ocular corticosteroid dose at any grade and explicitly defers initiation of systemic or topical ocular steroids to an ophthalmologist. ASCO's ocular chapter names agents at grades 2 and 3 without attaching a figure to them, and states a systemic dose at grade 4 alone — prednisone 1-2 mg/kg/d, or methylprednisolone 0.8-1.6 mg/kg/d as its alternative, which this card notes rather than encodes because the rung shows one dose. The intraocular route stays the ophthalmologist's at every grade. The remaining gap is stated rather than filled with a plausible topical regimen.
  • OnsetNo onset window for ICI uveitis is stated in any source held here; the bucket is 'any-time' and the numeric fields are null.
  • Grade 3 or higher shareNull. No grade ≥3 rate for uveitis is stated here; SITC notes symptoms may not reflect severity, which is a reason to refer rather than a rate.
  • MortalityNull — uveitis threatens sight, not life, and no source here reports a fatality figure.
  • Dry eyes and the other ocular phenotypesThis organ carries one card. Dry eyes (incidence 1%–24%), iritis, conjunctivitis, serous retinal detachment and optic neuritis are named by SITC but managed under the same referral umbrella with no phenotype-specific ladder, and optic neuritis is a neurological toxicity. They are recorded as outstanding in the citation ledger rather than sketched as separate cards.
  • Taper step size and intervalASCO states the grade 4 dose for the eye and no taper for it, so the window shown is its cross-organ 'at least 4-6 weeks' — a FLOOR in ASCO's own text, rendered open-ended rather than as a completion date. The step size and interval are empty together: no chapter held here states a cadence for any organ, and inventing one would print a number no source states.
  • Linked society recommendationsLeft empty — the recommendation this atlas stores for ASCO and for SITC is scoped to ICI-related kidney injury.

Sources

  • Brahmer JR, et al. (2021) Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC) clinical practice guideline on immune checkpoint inhibitor-related adverse eventsCited for: That uveitis and dry eyes are the commonest ocular irAEs; uveitis's <1%-6% rate, its symptom set and its anterior/posterior/pan subtypes; the warnings that ocular symptoms may under-represent severity and that infection or metastasis must be excluded; the referral thresholds by grade; the MRI trigger for ocular or bulbar symptoms; and the rule that steroids for the eye are started under an ophthalmologist's guidance, since steroids can worsen an infectious cause or mask grading.Supporting text: the full text
  • Schneider BJ, et al. (2021) Management of Immune-Related Adverse Events in Patients Treated With Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Therapy: ASCO Guideline UpdateCited for: ASCO's Table 10 section 10.1 uveitis/iritis chapter, and only that entity: the four-rung grading by anterior-chamber cell count and best-corrected visual acuity; continuation of the ICPi at grade 1 with prompt referral usually within a week and artificial tears; the temporary grade-2 hold until after the ophthalmology consult, with urgent referral, topical corticosteroids and a cycloplegic, and resumption once off systemic steroids at 10 mg prednisone equivalent or less; PERMANENT discontinuation from grade 3 with urgent referral; and at grade 4 emergent referral with prednisone 1-2 mg/kg/d or methylprednisolone 0.8-1.6 mg/kg/d alongside intravitreal, periocular or topical corticosteroids per ophthalmologist opinion.Supporting text: the full text
  • Abdel-Rahman O, et al. (2017) Immune-related ocular toxicities in solid tumor patients treated with immune checkpoint inhibitors: a systematic review.Cited for: That immune-related ocular toxicities are uncommon but serious, that uveitis and dry eyes are the commonest, and that they occur more often on ICIs than on control regimens — pooled odds ratio 3.40 (95% CI 1.32-8.71) across 11 trials and 4965 participants. The systematic review behind SITC's rate statement.Supporting text: the PubMed abstract (checkable at the link above)

Educational use only. Educational synthesis of the published literature — not a treatment protocol, dosing guide, or medical advice. Regimens and agents shown are illustrative of what the literature describes; verify against current guidelines (ASON / KDIGO / ASCO / NCCN) and individualize to the patient. Using this site creates no clinician–patient relationship.

Spotted an error? Tell us. Sourcing and method are described on Methods.